goodjob goodwill

July 8, 2009

Every once in a while I observe a company logo or advertisement that simply amazes me; the amazement usually comes from its cleverness. I decided to start sharing these with everyone else and maybe see if anyone feels the same way.

One logo that I have always loved is up in Boston. It belongs to the Morgan Memorial Goodwill Industries. Just so you know what they do, here is their Mission Statement found on their website: “Morgan Memorial Goodwill Industries’ mission is to provide exemplary job training and related services to help individuals with disabilities and other barriers to self-sufficiency to achieve independence and dignity through work. Not charity, but a chance.”

Morgan Memorial Goodwill Industries

Morgan Memorial Goodwill Industries

The first thing you probably see is half of a smiley face, I know that’s what I first noticed. A company with goodwill in the name that bears a smiley face in its logo, makes sense. I passed this sign multiple times and didn’t realize the actual beauty of it for a while. I appreciated this sign a lot more when I saw that the half-smiley face was actually a lower case g as well. This realization was quickly followed by a couple “Oh WOW!”‘s.

I will admit though that I was a little disappointed when I realized that it is simply the font that they chose. If you look at the word goodwill at the bottom of the logo, it’s the same g, meaning it was just the correctly chosen font. I originally thought there must have been some “sculpting” done to make the g look like a happy person. Either way, very clever. Designing ones own font or even finding the perfect one is something to be proud of. It is extremely hard to make a simple logo and have it convey so much just by looking at it. Mark this down as one of my favorites.

Do you have any favorites?

2 Responses to “goodjob goodwill”

  1. James Harder said

    Hey Bryan –

    Thanks for your comments about the Goodwill logo. It was created in the late 1960s by a Boston designer. I had a fact sheet on it at one point, but I can’t seem to put my fingers on it this morning. Goodwill was started in Boston in 1895, and there are now more than 200 affiliates worldwide. The majority of the Goodwill chapters use the “smiling g” logo, but a few (San Francisco and New York come to mind) have tweaked it a bit. We are in the process of re-designing our website, but will not be touching our logo as it has become a truly recognizable part of our brand.

    Again, thanks for your interest.

    James Harder
    Director of Communications
    Morgan Memorial Goodwill Industries

  2. bryanricard said

    Hi James,

    Thanks so much for stopping by and replying I really appreciate it. If you ever stumble upon that fact sheet I’d love to know more about it. Good luck with the website re-design and keep up the ‘good’ work. 🙂

    -Bryan

    For those interested I will be posting the alternate Goodwill logos used in New York, San Francisco, and anywhere else I can find.

Leave a Reply

