Inbound Marketing University – Assignment #1

May 18, 2010

Along with the 16 on-line courses at Hubspot’s Inbound Marketing University there are homework assignments for each one. I decided to try my best to do each and every one of them.

Assignment #1: Write a blog post about three best practices that you will adopt into your blogging strategy.

After listening to Ann Handley and Mack Collier discuss effective business blogging, I took away three key points that I wish to incorporate into my blog at some point:

  1. Header – It is clear that my blog template needs a face lift in order to have a more professional/business appeal. This includes a new header or banner that will display my name and/or logo very prominently.
  2. Sidebar – Along with the new layout, a sidebar for information may prove beneficial. Typically, all of the links (Archives/blogroll) at the bottom of my blog, are in the sidebar for other bloggers. This makes navigation more user-friendly, but I may like this clean, one column look better.
  3. Guest Bloggers – Ann and Mack discussed businesses who hire people to blog for them. This brought me to the idea of guest blogging. A lot of the popular, heavy-traffic blogs will invite guests to blog about a particular topic. It seems to me this wouldn’t be very effective until I have gained some sort of positive reputation. However, maybe some form of interview with a popular blogger can help boost my “ratings”.

I’m off to class #2 to learn a little more about Search Engine Optimization!

If you were the teacher, how would you grade my homework?

2 Responses to “Inbound Marketing University – Assignment #1”

  1. This is an awesome first step! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

